You are here
Marks of History
PIERRE, S.D. – The Northern Divide, separate from the Great Divide, runs through the northeast corner of South Dakota, near Sisseton. It runs back and forth across the border between South Dakota and Minnesota.
PIERRE, S.D. – The first territorial legislature of Dakota located the University of Dakota at Vermillion on April 21, 1862.
PIERRE, S.D. – On August 2, 1876, Jack McCall shot Wild Bill Hickok in the back at the No. 10 Saloon in Deadwood, S.D. Today, Wild Bill lies to rest at Mount Moriah Cemetery on Deadwood’s historic “Boot Hill”.
PIERRE, S.D. – Jack McCall was born around 1853 in Jefferson County, Kentucky and died March 1, 1877 in Yankton, Dakota Territory. He was hanged for the killing of James "Wild Bill" Hickok, shooting him from behind while he was playing poker at Saloon #10 in Deadwood in 1876.
PIERRE, S.D. – Fort Wadsworth was built on August 1, 1864.
PIERRE, S.D. – Located behind Legion Lake in CusterState Park sits a four-room log cabin made of ponderosa pine and native rock. The home of Charles Badger Clark, nicknamed “The Badger Hole”, now acts as a dedication to the work and life of Badger Clark.
PIERRE, S.D. – Cowtowns flourished from 1867 until the 1890s when railroads ended the necessity for long cattle drives.
PIERRE, S.D. – The American Legion was chartered by Congress in 1919 a as patriotic, mutual-help, war-time veterans organization. Six years later, on July 17, 1925, the American Legion Baseball program was created in Milbank, South Dakota.
PIERRE, S.D. – Located two miles east of Custer is an open valley where history was made. This area served as the main base camp for General George Armstrong Custer’s expedition to find gold in the Black Hills.